arachnid alarm clocks, and the most refreshing beverage on the planet.

September 8, 2008

When I awoke this morning there was a brown recluse two inches away from my face. I opened my eyes and was alarmed to see an arthropod, then I was relieved to see that it was a spider, then alarmed again when my eyes focused on the fiddle on its back. 

I love spiders. I really do, but I don’t really care to have a very dangerous one in the place that I sleep… very near my brain.   I checked myself over to see if had been bitten anywhere.  I hadn’t been, as far as I was able to tell in the brief inspection I performed upon myself.  As I got ready to leave for work I thought to myself, “Well, I guess if a bite shows up later on I’ll just have somebody take me to the hospital.”  I hate hospitals: the smells, the light, the sounds, the colors… all of it. Several hours into the day, and no sign of any bite, just a really scary wake up call.  So even a crappy day at work (which it wasn’t really) was way better than it might have been.

Also, Topo Chico is the best thing that has happened to me in at least a year… possibly ever (beveragely speaking).  I drank it less than regularly about a year ago, and didn’t fully realize how wonderful it is.  I can’t find anything wrong with it, and I only have great things to say about it.  Recently I’ve caught myself in full on daydreams, fantasizing about the cold carbonated goodness, and how remarkable it is after a long day, or how well it refreshes after a ride, how great it goes with a hot meal, how perfect it is while you’re putting on socks, the way you need one while you wash your dishes… basically there is not a time of day or a single occasion where it is inappropriate to drink one. 
One Response to “arachnid alarm clocks, and the most refreshing beverage on the planet.”

  1. leemerson Says:

    seriously, how the fuck is topo chico so F’in carbonated!? best thing ever. i like the lime one. yum.


Leave a Reply

